Upcycled Kitchen Island Win!

So I moved… again.  I love the new place.  Its much more roomy, and has a nice fenced in yard for the dogs. I had one major gripe with it though… For those of you who know me best, you know I love to cook (and eat).  I have a kitchen pot/pan/utensil/gadget for every cooking need.  The kitchen in my new place is quite large, but seriously lacking in cabinets.  I mean there are honestly like 3 cabinets in there.  I don’t get it.  An entire wall of real estate was being unused.

Since its a rental, there was no way I was going to invest in buying and installing new cabinets and countertops.  I started scouring Craigslist for used islands, but none of them were really quite right.

Then I saw a woman nearby was selling an old dresser.  A lightbulb went on in my brain.  Dan and I went and picked it up, brought it home, and I immediately started to dissect it in my kitchen. I removed the hardware, painted it, and added new legs for height.  I busted up two of the drawers totally, and married two drawer fronts to make a door for a large storage space (my margarita machine needs a big house). I needed more countertop space than the dresser itself could provide, so I went to Lowe’s and had them cut a piece of MDF for me.  I attached that to the top, and simply covered it with contact paper.

Check out its kitchen majesty here…

p.s.  If anyone of you needs my new address, send me a message and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

